Close

Twitter Wall

18/09/20

Year 6 Film Club began today and linked to our WW2 topic and English learning, we have been watching Carrie’s War based on the book by Nina Bawden https://t.co/N2RJidLXte

16/09/20

Retweeted From Samuel Ryder Academy

We are thrilled to announce that our Headteacher, Matt Gauthier has been announced as a Silver Winner in this year’s Pearson National Teaching Awards for Headteacher of the Year in a Secondary School award category. https://t.co/cpiLy9yajS

16/09/20

Fantastic news. Congratulations Mr Gauthier! https://t.co/S3VOK5zD5E

16/09/20

Retweeted From Herts Advertiser

St Albans headteacher wins national award https://t.co/AAXociWvDt

14/09/20

Year 5 enjoying our class text outside today. ‘Who Let The Gods Out’ is a definite hit! ☄️🌟💫💥📚 https://t.co/dCeLJ8OHJe

11/09/20

What a way to end the week! The children (and staff) thoroughly enjoyed celebrating Roald Dahl Day. What a fantastic end to our full first week back. Thanks to Miss Leat for organising and to parents and carers for the wonderfully inventive costumes.

11/09/20

Smiles all round in Cambridge Class. https://t.co/p8sgKbF4wj

11/09/20

We wonder if this Wonka Bar has the GOLDEN TICKET?? https://t.co/sFf2ov5NYI

11/09/20

This afternoon Year 5 made their very own lava lamps inspired by ‘George’s Marvellous Medicine’! It was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone🤩 🧪💊🌋#RoaldDahlDay https://t.co/RN61rUFDBU

11/09/20

Year 5 having been creating their very own marvellous medicine 🧪🧫 https://t.co/DLOWp0GoJd

11/09/20

Has anyone seen Mrs Schenk and Miss Harper? All we can find are these two! https://t.co/jzxOJ7JZW6

11/09/20

Roald Dahl Day across Primary today. Some amazing outfits sharing well known characters from our favourite stories. The children have been so enthusiastic to share their learning. https://t.co/yq2ILWFIvE

11/09/20

Retweeted From Narelle Elliott

Roald Dahl day at today and absolutely loving the teacher effort, amazing!! https://t.co/ToWvJ4jKnc

02/09/20

It was wonderful to welcome back the primary children today. The children were fantastic and got back into their routine and learning really quickly. So many smiling faces. Well done to everyone for such a great start!

17/07/20

Yummy!! 🍭🍬 https://t.co/qziWetiHkx

17/07/20

Candy floss was a huge hit! Thank you to the PTA for the machine and also the sweets! 🍬🍭#schoolsoutforsummer https://t.co/0JJsM0yqOV

16/07/20

Year 6 had a fantastic afternoon making their very own ice cream in a bag! The toppings were a huge hit! 🍨🍬👩‍🍳👨‍🍳 https://t.co/jnZ4FIOaPM

16/07/20

Everyone had a great time! https://t.co/AY4lCQysRE

16/07/20

Year 5 and 6 socially distanced sports day!! It has been a great success! 🎾🏅🎽🏃‍♀️🏃 A big thank you to Mr Mead and Mr Walker! https://t.co/U4ipyYVeHU

16/07/20

Thank you to for their much appreciated donation of ice lollies yesterday. https://t.co/0O2VPNI787

15/07/20

Can you recognise any of the primary team? https://t.co/kWIlrsFz7N

10/07/20

We were a few days behind, so today we did 300 kick ups. Day 6, 7 & 8! ⚽️ https://t.co/Wn0D783Z4M

10/07/20

Well done to the amazing Summer for her brilliant 500 words on Black Lives Matter. She is through the first round! 🤩📚📝 https://t.co/KceZfApvku

07/07/20

Retweeted From Macmillan Cancer Support

Thank you so much to everyone at SRA Primary for taking on the Kick Up Challenge to support Macmillan, it is amazing to see so many pupils involved, such superstars! Best wishes- Sarah💚

07/07/20

Day 4 & 5 - so 200 keepie uppies today! ⚽️ https://t.co/ynew3d1Srp

05/07/20

Retweeted From SRA Art

A beautiful entry for this week’s from one of our very talented Primary TA’s, Jenna Harper! Jenna has painted a vase of artichokes for the ‘still life’ theme and we think they are truly stunning indeed! Wow! https://t.co/vq5OuoelZn

02/07/20

Smartie Maths today in Year 6- this definitely went down a treat! 🔴🟣🔵🟢🟡🟠 https://t.co/Bv3HcAAQvf

02/07/20

Oxford B completing another 100 keepie uppies- Day 2. https://t.co/0CNfZsV8hN

01/07/20

Oxford group B have taken on the Macmillan challenge to complete 1000 keepie uppies. Today we have completed our first 100! https://t.co/HQqLd8jQ0V

26/06/20

Year 1 Carnival Day has started well with a wave of colour and excitement. https://t.co/jyRKm39aNc

25/06/20

A few more Year 5 freeze frames inspired by Charlotte’s Web. 🕷🕸🐷🐴🦆🐀 https://t.co/yELtMwIhNz

25/06/20

Year 5 produced some freeze frames from key parts of Charlotte’s Web. https://t.co/BxWwtIVA5H

25/06/20

Year 6 took English outside in the shade today. We have designed our very own swamp monsters inspired by fantastic beasts! 🧟‍♀️🧟‍♂️👹 https://t.co/4llavr1yvC

22/06/20

Unbe-leaf-able effort. https://t.co/7O79FOekZX

22/06/20

St Andrews Class took the learning outside to sketch leaves. https://t.co/VjZn6rCvYp

22/06/20

Year 5 have had a fantastic start today. They have enjoyed seeing each other and being back at school. We have been so proud of their efforts and determination to get back to their learning https://t.co/J6HP9qIUvf

16/06/20

Retweeted From SRA - English

Love these videos with grammar reminders https://t.co/DFajoI3OSd

15/06/20

Retweeted From Samuel Ryder Academy

Launching . Why not discuss “What is the greatest super power?” Be as creative as you can with your opinions. No need to comment. A weekly oracy challenge will happen every Tuesday https://t.co/ufPZaQver9

Welcome

Samuel Ryder Academy Sixth Form provides a unique opportunity to be part of a diverse community, where we pride ourselves on our commitment to offering a positive, vibrant and high achieving learning environment.  You will have opportunities to develop leadership skills, have inspirational teaching in small class sizes and be regularly monitored by excellent and experienced pastoral tutors who will encourage you to extend yourself and strive for excellence.

Choosing what and where you want to study after your GCSEs is a big decision.  Sixth Form is the introduction to Higher Education, Advanced Apprenticeships and careers, a time for not only maturing as a young adult but learning how to become independent.  We have high expectations of all our students and support the development of self – motivation, self – discipline and other independent learning skills required by Higher Education and future careers.  You will be supported by our in-house careers advisor and enrichment and mentoring programmes offered by our partners Deloitte LLP and NFT.  Working with you and your parents/ carers ensures you achieve your potential.

Our Sixth Form team encourages a love for learning that extends beyond the classroom and motivates you to develop responsibility and have a positive impact on our ever changing world.  In fact, over 90% of Samuel Ryder students go to their first choice universities!

We are committed to creating exciting enrichment opportunities: guest speakers, trips and extra-curricular activities.  As a SRA Sixth Form student you will become an integral part of the day-to-day running of the school by offering support to the lower school and the wider community, developing your personal and inter-personal qualities in preparation for life beyond school.

Through its warmth and sense of community, SRA ensures you quickly become acquainted with each other and develop friendships. SRA is more than a place to pass your A Levels, it is a place that allows you to develop as a person, where your academic ambitions will be met in a stimulating atmosphere of care and support.

As a Sixth Form, we take great pride in all our achievements and I hope that the information contained in this website will give you a glimpse of Sixth Form life at Samuel Ryder Academy.

We would be delighted to see you at our open events.

I look forward to meeting you.

Mrs Helen Potter

Head of Sixth Form

 

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×